Got Scammed on 1st International Transaction Purchase

I hate to say Beware of Seller but I need to do it.
I am new to DB since late April...someone told me it was a good place to buy and sell jewelry. I bought a pair of "old mine cut 14K/platinum diamond cluster screw post earrings" from seller "decodolly" in England. I probably should have found it suspicious that there were no specific details in the description about ANYTHING other than the gold content and the old cut of the diamonds.

Anyway, we went back and forth via emails while I asked a ton of questions about them--specifically I asked about the mm size of the heads, the carat weight, whether there was any damage to the diamonds, and the color and clarity.

This seller told me "the earrings measured 8 to 8.5 mm in diameter"(which as you know would be about the size of a 2.25 ct diamond and would look big on the ears)--AND the diamonds were ".07 - .10" ct each. THISis what I received--earrings with diamonds no larger than .03 - .04 ct AND heads only 6.51 and 6.53 mm. Never would I have paid the price for 1/2 carat diamond earrings that tiny. Anyway, once burned twice shy, won't be back to buy on DB.

Last edited by a moderator:
Post Script to the last post...

I attempted to attach the photos of these earrings I took for Paypal--being measured with my digital gauge, at 6.51 and 6.53 mm. but for some reason I keep getting an error message that the pictures are too large.

Long story short, we are now in a Paypal dispute and seller refuses to refund my money. She wouldn't even respond to my message asking her how she wanted to handle the situation--which forced me to have to open a case with Paypal. I would urge buyers to stay away from this one.

I'm sorry this happened to you... There are a ton of lovely sellers and buyers on the Bistro though :0) I do try to buy from within my own country though...It's just easier for me that way.