Any candle makers?....

MrsFISH

Afficionado
I am ready to start a new hobby and am thinking I might enjoy making candles, but I want to do it right, make the really yummy smelling ones, I was thinking someone on here was good at that? I have read a little bit about the waxes, and wicks etc, but am unsure of who to buy from. Anyone care to chime in.

sparklee

The Millenium Star
I've been making candles for about 11 years now, and thoroughly enjoy it. I buy most of my supplies at Candlescience, and Peak's. I use a special blend of paraffin wax that I get from Candlewic.

It is very important that you thoroughly test your waxes and wicks. Too big a wick and your candle will burnout. Too small and it will tunnel. The testing process can take time, but it's worth it in the end 'cause you want to have a safe product, especially if you're going to give them as gifts or sell.

Let me know if you need any help - I'd be more than happy to advise.

MrsFISH

Afficionado
Yeah I was thinking of you
I was looking at peaks. What do you recommend I purchase to get started? I burn through candles like crazy, I have. 4 Yankee Santa cookie ones burning right now! The big jar ones. I figure that I will get to do a new hobby and make something that I love. I would love to be ble to gift them to friends and family as well.

Your candles look great, I want to be able to make them as strong smelling as possible, I see that some waxes hold sent better? And I might need a bigger wick? I am open to any and all suggestions, I have just been throwing stuff into my cart

Last edited by a moderator:

sparklee

The Millenium Star
Well, first you have to decide if you're going to make jar candles or pillars. Do you want to use paraffin wax or soy wax?