14k rose gold soldering struggle - advice needed!

Hello all!
I have been silversmithing (usually only silver, sometimes copper and brass) for a couple years but was recently commissioned to make a simple wedding band in 14k rose gold (with 7.8k rose gold solder).
I'm having a lot of trouble with the join (on a plain band!! ridiculous, I know!) and it's really making me question my skill (or lack thereof?!).
It's my first time using gold in any form, so I'm positive there are things I need to know that I didn't find in my research prior to commencing the job.
It's quite a thick band at 1.5mm (5.5mm width) which I believe is not helping the matter, it's been increasingly hard to get two flush sides for the perfect join (any tips for this also welcome!!).
I am welcoming any tips, tricks and advice, as I'm beginning to worry a bit! I don't want to ruin this piece of gold as I can't face a disappointed customer or the hundreds of dollars I'll lose.
I need a win!! Please help!!

Thanks in advance,
Elly